Register to win a Airline Ticket For

2 To Lagos Nigeria or Accra Ghana

Courtesy of Arik Air




Lagos Island as seen from the harbour near Victoria Island

Lagos (English pronunciation: /'le?g?s/[3] lay-gos;[4] Edo: Èkó)[5][6] is a port and the most populous conurbation in Nigeria. With a population of 7,937,932, it is currently the third most populous city in Africa after Cairo and Kinshasa, and currently estimated to be the second fastest growing city in Africa (7th fastest in the world).[7] Lagos is the economic and financial capital of Nigeria and was once the capital of Nigeria.

Lagos was originally inhabited by the Awori subgroup of the Yoruba people. Under the leadership of their Olofin the Awori moved to an island now called Iddo and then to the larger Lagos Island. In the 15th century the Awori settlement was attacked by the Benin Empire following a quarrel and the island became a Benin war-camp called "Eko" under Oba Orhogba, the Oba of Benin of the time.[6][8]

Lagos is a huge metropolis which originated on islands separated by creeks such as Lagos Island that fringe the southwest mouth of Lagos Lagoon protected from the Atlantic Ocean by long sand spits such as Bar Beach which stretch up to 100 km east and west of the mouth. From the beginning Lagos has spread on the mainland west of the lagoon and the conurbation, including Ikeja and Agege, now reaches more than 40 km north-west of Lagos Island. There are suburbs like Ikorodu, Epe and Badagry and recently more local councils have been created to bring the total number of local governments in Lagos to 57.

Accra Ghana.....       

Official Site

Accra (/?'kr??/) is the capital and largest city of Ghana, with the population of the city proper estimated at 3,963,264 as of 2011. Accra is also the capital of the Greater Accra Region and of the Accra Metropolitan District, with which it is coterminous.[4] Accra is furthermore the anchor of a larger metropolitan area called the Greater Accra Metropolitan Area (GAMA), including eight districts - Accra Metropolitan, Tema Metropolitan, Ga East Municipal, Ga West Municipal, Ga South Municipal, Ledzokuku-Krowor Municipal, Ashaiman Municipal and Adenta Municipal.[5] The GAMA is home to about 4 million people, making it the largest metropolitan conglomeration in the country by population.[3] As a primate city, Accra is the administrative, communications, and economic centre of the country.

Originally built around a port, Accra stretches along the Ghanaian Atlantic coast and extends north into the interior. It served as the capital of the British-ruled Gold Coast from 1877. Accra has since transitioned from being a 19th-century suburb of Victoriaborg into a modern metropolis; the city's architecture reflects this history, ranging from 19th-century British colonial buildings to skyscrapers and apartment blocks.